Dark in the Song Concert at UNCSA

Contemporary bassoon collective, Dark in the Song will perform this Tuesday, April 19th at Watson Recital Hall on the UNCSA campus at 7:30pm. Music by Jacob Ter Veldhuis, Michael Torke, David Smooke, and 3 world premieres by Christopher Dietz, Moon Young Ha, and Amy Beth Kirsten.

Adventurous new music for bassoon ensemble. Called a “bassoon supergroup” by the American Music Center, Dark in the Song was formed in 2010 by five of the most innovative and accomplished bassoonists in the new music scene today. Learn more at our website: http://darkinthesong.com


  • July (1995) for 4 bassoons and contrabassoon
    by Michael Torke, arr. Lynn Hileman
  • Air is a light sorrow (2011 ) for 4 bassoons and contrabassoon *World Premiere
    by Moon Young Ha
  • Thicket (2011) for 5 bassoons *World Premiere
    by Christopher Dietz
  • World Under Glass No. 1 (2011) for 5 bassoons *World Premiere
    by Amy Beth Kirsten
  • 21 Miles to Coolville (2009) for solo bassoon and three accompanying bassoons
    David Smooke
  • Pitch Black (1998) for getto baster & bassoon quartet
    by Jacob ter Veldhuis, arr. Saxton Rose

Leave a Comment